Writers Contest & Cup 2019

The Sydney Road Writers Contest & Cup is returning for 2019!
Thursday 1 August – The Penny Black @ 420 Sydney Road, Brunswick

The Writers Contest is split into two categories:

  • Poetry ( 3 mins)
  • Story Telling (4 mins)

$500 Prize per Category // $250 Encouragement Prize –
Overall winner takes home the special cup!

Full guidelines available here

Register by Monday 22nd July using the form below:

Previous Writers Contest & Cups:

2018 – Basco Brunswick

Last year, more than twenty-five poets and storytellers took to the stage at Basco to share their creative talents with an enthralled audience. The jam-packed event included touching biographical performances, fantastical recitals, and absurdly funny routines. Newcomers to spoken word had the chance to mingle with some of the community’s veteran performers, and take their first shot at the special cup alongside yearly competitors, all within a cheerful environment.

CONGRATULATIONS to all of the performers, particularly:

  • Tim Train, Short Story Winner
  • Blayke Percival, Poetry & Overall Writer’s Cup Winner!

2017 – Edinburgh Castle

2016 – Spotted Mallard

2015 – The Brunswick Hotel